Taekwondo Belts

Taekwondo awards levels and belts according to the level of mastery demonstrated by the student. Low levels are from Level 8 to Level 1, and high levels are from the lowest 1 ‘dan’ or 1 ‘poom’ to the highest 4 ‘dan’ or 4 ’poom.’ ‘Dan’ and ‘poom’ signify the same thing, but the term ‘poom’ is used for those 15 or under while the term ‘dan’ applies to anyone 16 or older. Each level has its own ‘Pumsae,’ a predetermined set of movements that one can use to gain practice against an imaginary opponent. Different colored belts are awarded according to the level attained.

For the 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th Dan, there are more Poomsae: Sipjin, Jitae, Chonkwon, Hansu and Ilyeo.



Basic Position

Taegeuk 1-Jang

Taegeuk 2-Jang

Taegeuk 3-Jang

Taegeuk 4-Jang

Taegeuk 5-Jang

Taegeuk 6-Jang

Taegeuk 7-Jang

Taegeuk 8-Jang





Belt Color

Low Level

High Level

No Level

Level 8

Level 7

Level 6

Level 5

Level 4

Level 3

Level 2

Level 1

1 Poom, 1 Dan

2 Poom, 2 Dan

3 Poom, 3 Dan

4 Poom, 4 Dan



* The belt colors outlined above are basic, but depending on the discretion of a Taekwondo master or country federation, belt colors offered at a specific place of learning can increase or decrease.

in visitkorea.or.kr